CASL

Staff Directory

Senior Leadership Team (description)

Doug Kothe Director kothe@ornl.gov 865-241-9392
Douglas Burns Deputy Director douglas.burns@inl.gov 208-526-2051
Paul Turinsky Chief Scientist turinsky@ncsu.edu 919-515-5098

Technical Focus Areas (description)

Advanced Modeling Applications (AMA)

Zeses Karoutas Lead karoutze@westinghouse.com 803-647-2064
Steve Hess Deputy Lead shess@epri.com 484-753-3677
Rose Montgomery Deputy Lead rmontgomery@tva.gov 865-576-1381

Materials Performance & Optimization (MPO)

Chris Stanek Lead stanek@lanl.gov 505-664-0361
Brian Wirth Deputy Lead bdwirth@utk.edu 865-974-2554

Radiation Transport Methods (RTM)

Bill Martin Lead wrm@umich.edu 734-764-5534
Tom Evans Deputy Lead evanstm@ornl.gov 865-576-353

Thermal Hydraulics Methods (THM)

Mark Christon Lead christon@lanl.gov 505-663-5124
Emilio Baglietto Deputy Lead emiliob@mit.edu 617-253-4231

Physics Integration (PHI)

Jess Gehin Lead gehinjc@ornl.gov 865-576-5093
Scott Palmtag Deputy Lead scott.palmtag@corephysics.com 910-620-6540

Validation & Uncertainty Quantification (VUQ)

Vincent Mousseau Lead vamouss@sandia.gov 505-844-9164
Brian Williams Deputy Lead brianw@lanl.gov 505-310-2762

Product Integrators and Cross-Cutting Technologies

John Turner Chief Computational Scientist turnerja@ornl.gov 865-241-3943
Zeses Karoutas Challenge Problems, Lead karoutze@westinghouse.com> 860-384-1923
Jeff Secker Challenge Problems, CRUD seckerjr@westinghouse.com 412-374-2157
Brian Wirth Challenge Problems, GTRF  bdwirth@utk.edu 865-974-2554
Rob Montgomery Challenge Problems, PCI  robert.montgomery@pnnl.gov 509-371-6231
Gregg Swindlehurst Challenge Problems, RIA, LOCA gsnuclear@bellsouth.net 704-651-7130
Yixing Sung Challenge Problems, DNB sungy@westinghouse.com 412-374-2105
Nam Dinh Validation Data nam.dinh@inl.gov 208-526-2242

Councils (description)

Industry Council

Heather Feldman, Chair EPRI hfeldman@epri.com 704-595-2735

Science Council

William Oberkampf, Chair Consultant wloconsulting@gmail.com 512-240-5560

Operations Management and Support

Jeff Banta Program Manager bantajp@ornl.gov 865-574-7263
Jeff Cornett Partnership Manager cornettjb@ornl.gov 865-241-3807
Judson Hightower Legal Program Manager hightowerjr1@ornl.gov 865-576-3767
April Lewis Collaboration & Ideation Officer lewisaa@ornl.gov 865-576-2045
Victoria Shope Financial Officer shopevc@ornl.gov 865-574-7295
Matt Sieger Quality Manager seigermt@ornl.gov 865-574-2289
Mark Uhran Communications uhranml@ornl.gov 865-574-8381
Linda Weltman Executive Administrative Support weltmanlk@ornl.gov 865-574-9970

Outreach

Michael Doster Education Program Director doster@ncsu.edu 919-515-3658
Mark Uhran Communications Coordinator uhranml@ornl.gov 865-574-8381